The 6th World Conference on Production and Operations Management – P&OM Nara 2022 (2020)

Home of Conference

GreetingsTheme and Topics of InterestSubmissions
Important DatesOptional ToursSocial Program
RegistrationPlenary SpeakersSpecial Conference Features
Organizations and CommitteesSpecial IssuesUpdated Conference News
Conference AwardsAbstract model/InstructionsFull paper model/Instructions
Invited sessions and tracksSteering CommitteeOrganizing Committee
Program CommitteeInvited Sessions/Tracks CommitteeVenue
Above pages may be subject to change without notice.
5th Call For Papers (3 pages PDF)
Please send all proposals and inquiries electronically to: worldpom at (Replace at to @)

New Important Postponement Announcement

The Conference Steering Committee announces:

Dear friends and colleagues

As we are still receiving requests for an extension to the abstract submission deadline, the Steering Committee of the 6th World P&OM Conference ( has decided to allow a final further extension to MONDAY 21, MARCH 2022.

We are still optimistic about the pandemic evolution for the date of the Conference and are waiting for you in Nara.


Over 45 invited sessions and 6 open tracks have been organized (

2 of these open tracks are related to 2 Special issues (Journal of Operations Management and Journal of Purchasing and Supply Management). 4 other Journal Special issues are planned in IJOPM, IJPDLM, OMR and JOMS (, as well as 3 Conference Awards (

VERY IMPORTANT: When uploading an abstract for a invited session or open track you need:1) to choose a topic (if it is not the one of your session/track choose the closest one and put a note in the abstract); 2) Choose invited session/track as the type of session, and indicate the name(s) of the organizer(s).

Important dates (updated February 26, 2022)

Conference dates:August 23-26, 2022

New Abstract Submission Deadline: MARCH 21, 2022

Notification of Abstract Acceptance Deadline: APRIL 4, 2022    

Full Paper Submission (non mandatory) due date: May 31, 2022(extended)

Early Registration Due Date:May 20, 2022   

If you are willing to organize an invited session, please send your request to Let us know if you have special requests.

We are looking to seeing you! Mark your calendars! Don’t miss this important event and join us in Nara!

For any question, please email to:

We hope that this deadline extension will enable everyone wishing to participate at this conference to submit their abstract. Let us know if you have special requests.

With great thanks to everyone who has submitted his/her abstracts so far, best wishes from Jose A.D.Machuca and Hiro Matsuo (Co-Chairs), on behalf of:

Steering Committee (JOMSA, EurOMA and POMS) : Jose A. D. Machuca (Honorary Ex-Officio Chair (EurOMA, POMS, JOMSA)), Hirofumi Matsuo (Chair, JOMSA), Yoshiki, Matsui (JOMSA), Michiya Morita (JOMSA), Nigel Caldwell (EurOMA), Gerald Reiner (EurOMA), Sushil Gupta (POMS), Nagesh Murthy(POMS).

Organizing and Supporting Organizations (not exhaustive- see Japanese Operations Management and Strategy Association (JOMSA); European Operations Management Association (EurOMA); Production and Operations Management Society (POMS); Decision Sciences Institute (DSI); Association of Supply Chain and Operations Management (ASCOM-China); Australia and New Zealand Academy of Management (ANZAM-OSCM SIG); Spanish Academy of Management (ACEDE-ACEDEDOT).

Organizing Committee Representatives: Munehiko Itoh (JOMSA Fifth President), Japan (Chair); Masaharu Ota (JOMSA Board and Seventh President), Japan (Co-Chair); Kakuro Amasaka (JOMSA Board and Second President), Japan (Co-Chair); Danny Samson and Prakash J. Singh (ANZAM – OSCM SIG), Australia; Yinan Qi (ASCOM President), China; R. Alfalla and J.A. Miguel-Davila (ACEDEDOT-ACEDE), Spain.

Program Committee Chairs and members: Barbara B. Flynn, (DSI Fellow and Past President, ASCOM Past President), USA; Andreas Größler (EurOMA Former Events Team Chair), Germany; Jeet Gupta (DSI and POMS Fellow and Past President), USA; Ryo Sato (JOMSA Sixth President), Japan; Yasutaka Kainuma (JOMSA Eighth President), Japan; Hideaki Kitanaka (JOMSA Ninth President), Japan; Osam Sato (JOMSA Immediate Past President), Japan; Junichi Tomita (JOMSA  President), Japan; Xiande Zhao (ASCOM founder, Honorary President), China.